Living, Eating, Breathing Journalism

Let me tell you, my week has been crazy. It has been both a journalistic Hell and Haven. It is Hell because I, literally, hardly find time to eat. It is a haven because this is what I love and I wouldn’t have it any other way. On Mondays and Tuesdays I work at Missouri’s State Capitol and write/produce radio stories. Check them out here. Wednesdays and Fridays I work at KOMU, running cameras for Pepper & Friends. In-between jobs, I have classes, tests, and projects (every week) for my Broadcast 2 class.

Speaking of the class, want to see the opening picture for the website? Here it is:

Greeley's Style
Yes, that is my professor of journalistic wisdom. For class this week we had to produce packages. These little buggers are what someone would see on the news that includes video with the reporter talking over it. There are few pauses for other interviewees to talk and then it is also common to see the reporter himself on-screen talking about something related to the story. If I figure out how to post them online, I will be sure to link it up.

This week has been a learning experience for me! Another requirement of the class is to complete four shadow shifts at the TV station. I went to one last night around 7:30 p.m. It was the live truck shift and it was crazy! I had no idea that those little tidbits you see on air that say “Reporting Live from…” take so much effort! We have to go to the location, find the perfect spot, set up the equipment (no small task, mind you) and do it all in the cold. Brrrr. I couldn’t feel my hands for a good hour or so afterwards. Check out the KOMU truck here.

When we were scoping out the scene, we stumbled upon a rock “house”. If it weren’t 9 p.m. and dark, it may not have been so scary (but I doubt it). There we were, right outside Mizzou’s Boone County Extension Center, looking at a creepy rock house. I have no idea why it is there, we investigated and nothing was in there except leaves and dirt. An awkward compost pile maybe? I finally found an equivalent on the web, here is an example of what it looked like:

image from projectgaia.org
Back onto the topic of journalism, though. I just went through some stories on CNN and came up with a great idea! The economy is down, most know that, and I have seen various features on what people are doing to cope. What about from a magician’s point of view? I don’t know about you, but I think this would be a really neat story! Check out CNN’s version, here.

Well, unfortunately, I have to go back into the real world now. See you next week!

P.S. the lovely lady from the first post is Mary Pickford.
To listen to a lovely song about her, click here.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

