The Starving Artist

I think the last time I ate today was around 1 p.m.  I am not entirely sure because I have been too busy running around Columbia.  My story this week comes from a study I found that highlighted a marriage decline in Missouri.  I just finished editing, voicing, editing some more, interviewing, editing, interviewing and did I mention editing?  I am hungry, tired and a tad cranky, but I think what makes me crazier is the fact that I don’t mind it.  I wouldn’t mind doing this for the rest of my life.  It’s a good thing, too, because it is the rest of my life.

At the State Capitol this week I wrote about how we are doomed to pay higher electric bills – regardless of nuclear or coal power.  Read my story here.  Other exciting events in the world?  To understand this highlight, you must first watch this YouTube video.  It is called “David After Dentist“.  A Dad taped his kid after he went to the dentist, still (and very apparently) high on the drugs.  CNN highlighted little David after his escapade.  Watch it here.

I think this video is hilarious.  By reading the comments on the YouTube page, others obviously did not.  One thing that jumped out at me was this one-liner, “u child molesting bastar”.  I didn’t see any child molesting, but I suppose this webber can imagine whatever they want.

Another YouTube member was encouraging little David to re-experience the dentist visit by taking Salvia divinorum.  Hm…I don’t think it is the best idea to be giving a grade schooler drug tips.

Some people take things way out of context.  I saw this as a Dad who thought his kids was being funny.  He was not on illegal drugs, he simply went to the dentist.  If my little brother were acting like this, I would pull out a camera immediately and, without hesitation, hit record.  Now, would I go as far as post it on YouTube?  Maybe not, but that little dentist kid was hamming up all the comments and attention.

Also, why do people think it is alright to randomly post mean things under people’s videos?  I have seen sweet little videos of kittens (check out this one) and then randomly there will be a comment (always gruesomely spelled) about how the little kitten should be drowned.

Yeah, okay…

I, personally, am on the kittens side.

(Here is mine, his name is Clairvoyant)

Well, since I began on the topic of a drugged up mammal, here is another.  Click here.

Until next time,

–Christine Slusser

Mary Pickford and best friend, Frances Marion

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

