The Break of Spring.

Firstly, I WILL BE ON THE AIR APRIL 6!

Yay!  Tune in to KOMU around 7:45 a.m.

Now onto the blog…

This week was supposed to be my spring break from Mizzou (note the word “supposed”). Since break, I have worked at KOMU for most of it. I pulled a Sunday night shift, an all-day Monday shift (7:15 a.m. – 11 p.m.), took an iNews Avid edit test Tuesday (which I passed – yay) and then worked today as well. I am not complaining, mind you, but I just keep myself awfully busy even when it is supposed to be a break.

I think one great thing is the new Pepper & Friends set. Until the official digital switch-over, we are in a shed. A soybean shed…with a barn cat even!  To see him, click here to watch the open of Pepper and Friends.  Paul introduces him toward the middle.

Other than work, however, I have been able to start reading a book (for FUN even)! It is called So You Don’t Want to Go to Church Anymore? It is fascinating. I first started reading it to see if I could use it as a mini-book club for my youth group kids at Wilkes Blvd. I think it may be a little over their heads, but even though that won’t work out for them, it has been a great and inspiring read for me!

The excerpt Amazon.com gives is,

“What would you do if you met someone you thought just might be one of Jesus original disciples still living in the 21st Century? That’s Jake’s dilemma as he meets a man who talks of Jesus as if he had known him, and whose way of living challenges everything Jake had previously known. So You Don t Want to Go To Church Anymore is Jake s compelling journal that chronicles thirteen conversations with his newfound friend over a four-year period and how those exchanges turn Jake’s world upside-down. With his help, Jake faces his darkest fears, struggles through brutal circumstances and comes out on the other side in the joy and freedom he always dreamed was possible. If you’re tired of just going through the motions of Christianity and want to mine the depths of what it really means to live deeply in Christ, you ll find Jake s story will give you hope for your own. This book probes the difficult questions and offers some far-reaching answers. It just might turn your world upside-down as well!”

Cover.

Courtesy Amazon.com

I haven’t worked on any projects for school so far this week, but I plan to Friday. I should probably jump on my Meteorology reading as well. Want to hear an interesting meteorological factoid? If you compare a night with clear skies to a night with cloudy skies, the night with clouds will always be warmer. This is because the clouds act like “blankets” to the earth and send the heat that is trying to rise and escape back down to the ground.

Nifty, huh?

If I made an educated guess, I would say these are altocumulus clouds. Courtesy of flickr.com

Since I don’t have much in the way of “journalistic reflection” this week, I am going to rant about something. If you’ve been reading this blog or even slightly glancing over it, you will notice there are pictures of Ms. Mary Pickford after about every post. I try to tie the picture in with something interesting or something I have talked about during the blog, but this week I am going to point out what I would call an idiotic comparison. I discovered this almost a year ago and it still makes my blood slightly simmer.

Someone (from a prestigious newspaper no less) had the audacity to compare Mary Pickford to Paris Hilton.

Ugh.

This is the picture posted on the blog.

Hilton

 Courtesy AP and Milestone Films.
Here is the blog site link. Read it if you dare. 

Until next week,

Christine Slusser

After this blog, I would look upset too Mary.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

