World-Wide Web of Journalism

What an amazing week I’ve had! 

For starters, my stories down at the State Capitol were brilliant.  Not to sound arrogant, but I am excited I was able to cover “breaking news” on Tuesday.  Various reports from the AP and Kansas City Star (who broke the story) said there were FBI investigations going on in Jeff’s Capitol. 

My first reaction was, “what!?”  The only source the legislators had was the article.  Then later Tuesday AP broke a report that Rep. LeVota’s name was being brought into FBI investigator’s questions.

Representative LeVota of Independence, MO

Photo courtesy levota.com

Shortly after the report, the Democrats held an emergency caucus.  I was there to cover it, waiting outside the doors until it adjourned.

To read my radio story, click here.

To read the KC Star’s story, click here.

As far as what will be my last package (I am determined to make it so good it will be), I will be doing a second-round of interviews this coming Sunday.  My story is on a group of college guys who started their own fraternity on Mizzou’s campus.   It’s not every day that you see this and I thought it would be a great story.  I went over my first script with Greeley before Spring Break and hope that my new corrections will make it an even more exciting story than before.

As far as the news goes, I have been appalled by the number of reported plane crashes lately.  The one that caught my eye today, however, was a story by USA Today.  They said the Montana plane crash that killed 14 people could have been prevented.  The pilot apparently called back to traffic controllers twice to divert from the planned route.

Now my question is, why wasn’t he allowed to?  To read the story, click here.

Until next week,

Christine Slusser

I can't wait to play in the sprinklers, too!  It's spring time!

Intrigued?  Check out my other blog, here.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

